Heavenly and Unhealthy Fried Mac&Cheese Burritos

I do love a challenge. And a couple months ago my mom posted a non-vegan recipe on my brother’s facebook feed for mac and cheese burritos. I challenged them that I would veganize it. Mac and cheese is one of those comfort foods that my brother and I always loved growing up, but sometimes it can be difficult to perfect that as a vegan. I have some good mac and cheese recipes for us vegans by now, but I modified one to make this heavenly and oh-so-unhealthy yet amazing dish.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag macaroni pasta
  • 1 can drained diced green chiles
  • 1 package chipotle seitan stripsphoto 1
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) vegan margarine
  • 8 TBsp flour
  • 3 cups almond milk
  • 1 package daiya mozzarella
  • 1/2 package diaya cheddar
  • tortilla rolls (I used the red pepper chili ones from TJs)

First you will want to cook the pasta according to the package. While cooking, fry the seitan in a small amount of olive oil. Once those two are cooked combine the chiles, seitan, and macaroni in a large bowl.

In a pot melt the margarine on medium heat. Once mostly melted whisk in the flour, then add the milk. Cook through until bubbly and then stir in the cheese, mixing until melted. Remove from heat and stir in to the bowl of other ingredients.
photo 2

The toughest part of this recipe for me is then stuffing the tortillas and wrapping in to a perfect burrito. Luckily I had the veganaut help me with that. He formed the perfect burritos.

Lastly in a cast iron skillet I poured some canola oil and fried the burritos, starting with the seam side down, on both sides until brown and a little burnt.

You can serve with hot sauce, or, surprise surprise, I covered mine elegantly with BBQ sauce. 

photo 3

One thought on “Heavenly and Unhealthy Fried Mac&Cheese Burritos

Leave a comment