Vegan Sweet Potato Enchilada Night

In seems that the Veganaut and I always have one of two problems: either not enough leftovers in the fridge or too mane (in the freezer too). This past week it’s been the latter. And enchilada night didn’t help, I decided to make two different types of enchiladas, both sweet potato based. IMG_5566

First I peeled and diced about 6 medium sweet potatoes. Then I put them on a non-stick tray and baked at 400 for 20 minutes. IMG_5562

While those were cooking I started making the rest of the ingredients.

In a large bowl I added 2 cups cooked rice, 1 yellow, red, and orange bell pepper each (chopped), a handful of fresh cilantro, 1 can of drained black beans, 1 can drained kidney beans, 3 Tbsp lime juice, and 3 Tbsp fajita seasoning. When the sweet potatoes were done I mixed in 1/2 of them with this bowl.

This is the innards for enchilada #1. I spooned it in to the tortillas, wrapped them face IMG_5564down in a casserole dish that was already coated with a layer of red enchilada sauce, and then topped them on top with more red enchilada sauce and a mixture of daiya cheddar and mozzarella.

For enchilada #2 I took the remaining sweet potatoes and placed in a cast iron skillet and fried with 3 Tbsp garlic, 1 drained can of black beans, and 5 chopped medium tomatoes. I fried them in a little olive oil and mixed in 2 Tbsp chili powder at the end. I spooned that in to the tortillas and assembled similarly to the past dish, only using green enchilada sauce instead. Everything else was the same, except I had more leftover innards so I topped that on top of the enchiladas before coating it with more green enchilada sauce and vegan cheese.

I baked both dishes together at 350 for 20 minutes. I preferred #2, the veganaut preferred #1, which works out well with all the leftovers these dishes gave us!

Leave a comment