Super Packed And Crunchy Homemade Veggie Burger

Sorry it’s been a while since I wrote: I worked the last 7 out of 9 days so did not have much time for cooking. I will try to make it up to you with the fact that those things I did cook were phenomenal. Let’s start with this loaded veggie burger. I admit I am lazy when it comes to some things, and in particular I am usually very lazy and reluctant to make my veggie burgers from scratch. I am super glad I did make this one from scratch, but to be honest what really made this burger is the toppings.

photo 3

This recipe is actually a combination of several from online that I modified to make my own.

For the burgers:

  • 1 can black eyed peas
  • 1 green bell pepper, choppedphoto 2
  • 1 cup uncooked brown rice
  • 1/2 package green onions
  • 2 TBsp garlic
  • 2 TBsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 2 TBsp ground flax seed mixed with 4 TBsp water
  • hot sauce
  • 1 tsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 cup flour

Start cooking the rice according to the usual instructions (probably 2 cups water with 1 cup brown rice). While this is cooking drain the peas and run them through a food processor into a paste. Place them in a large mixing bowl and add in the green pepper. Slice the green onions and add that to the mixing bowl. When the rice is done add that to the mixing bowl as well as all the remaining ingredients. Stir together in to a moist paste and put in the fridge for at least an hour.

While the burgers are in the fridge you can make the sauce:

In a large bowl whisk together 1/4 chopped red onion, 2 TBsp garlic, 1 cup vegan mayonnaise, 2 TBsp olive oil, 1 TBsp dijon mustard, 1 TBsp worcestershire sauce, 1 TBsp lemon juice, 1 TBsp hot sauce, 2 TBsp ketchup, and a little salt and pepper.

photo 1

Then another topping I made: I sliced 1/2 of a red onion, fried it in olive oil until brown and carmelized, then added 3 TBsp brown sugar while heated and set aside.

Once the burger mixture has cooled in the fridge for at least an hour you can take it out and should have enough to form 4 large patties. Fry in a small amount of canola oil.

For the layering of this humungous burger:

First toast the bun and apply a layer of the sauce on either side. Then lay one slice of a large beefsteak tomato on the bottom bun, then a layer of potato chips. Next goes the burger on top of that, followed by some fresh spinach, and then the onions on top of that. Squish your top bun on top and enjoy! I wish I could have fit avocados in there but it was already jam packed.

photo 4

On the side for dinner that night I made cheezy fries: basically just used TJs vegan freezer french fries and baked according to the instructions but about 5 minutes before they would be done took them out of the over, flipped them, applied a healthy layer of Daiya pepperjack cheese as well as multi-colored diced bell peppers and some of the leftover diced beefsteak tomatoes, then back in the oven to finish. I was able to get my beloved avocados in to this recipe.

 

 

One thought on “Super Packed And Crunchy Homemade Veggie Burger

  1. Wow, we love ourselves some veggie burgers, but we haven’t tried black eyed peas in the patty. Nor refrigerating it, which might be why our patties always fall apart as I am sure that helps solidify it. This sounds awesome and loaded with deliciousness, lol. Thanks for sharing. ☮

Leave a comment