Vegan Breakfast Bowls

Sorry I’ve been away for a month- we’ve been on vacation and work has been crazy, but I have a bunch of recipes to get out to you all that I tried in the last month, so let’s get started.

This was quite an epic dish: saw this video on Facebook recently and decided to try to make it vegan, and it worked out great! The only down side to this dish is that it was too much food!!! It’s a better brunch than breakfast since it is enough food for a very large meal.

Ingredients:IMG_7060

  • pre made vegan bread bowlsIMG_7057
  • 2 packages tofu
  • 1/2 tsp black sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 1 bag spinach
  • 1 bag cremini mushrooms, sautéed
  • two large sweet potatoes, diced and then fried
  • two large white potatoes, diced and then fried
  • 1 container of cherry tomatoes, halved
  • small acts of day cheddar cheese
  • margarine
  • vegan smart bacon, fried

So I pretty much followed the recipe exactly from the buzzfeed video, but I did a lot of preparation the night before.

I fried up the potatoes (sweet potatoes for me, and regular potatoes for the Veganaut).IMG_7058

I also crushed up the tofu in the tumeric and black sea salt and fry in a little olive oil.

Saute the mushrooms in some olive oil. And I fried up the bacon.

Then the next day I started assembling! Take all the bread out of the middle. Spread some melted margarine on the inside. Then layer! I did some cheese, then fake bacon, then spinach, then potatoes, then tomatoes, then another layer of cheese, and lastly the tofu. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes!

For the leftovers I had of the innards, I just threw them together as a tofu scramble leftover breakfast!

IMG_7059

Leave a Reply

