Mac and Cheese with Buffalo Chickpeas and Sweet Potatoes

This recipe turned in to a combo recipe from previous ones. A little bit of it goes a long way, and it was even better as leftovers.

Not surprisingly, I made a large amount of this, so I had at least a week’s work of leftovers for both me and the veganaut. IMG_6395
First work on the chickpeas and sweet potatoes.
-1 can drained chickpeas
-1 bottle buffalo sauce
-2 large sweet potatoes, cut in to 2 inch squares
First I baked the sweet potatoes until tender.
Then I coated the chickpeas and potatoes in buffalo sauce, then baked for 12-15 minutes at 375. Set this aside while making mac and cheese.
For the noodles I cooked two boxes of noodles (macaroni and mini shells).
Once these were cooked I drained them and put them back in the pot, and then mixed in 2 bags day mozzarella cheese along with 1-2 cups almond milk, 2 Tbsp margarine, and flour whisked in to thicken it. IMG_6394
Next I made a ranch dressing sauce: blend together 3 Tbsp mayo, 4 Tbsp vegan yogurt, 2 Tbsp cashews that had been soaking in water at least 1 hour prior, 1 Tbsp almond milk, 1 tsp lemon juice, 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp dried parsley, and a pinch of salt.

For the arrangement I layered it:

greens on the bottom of the bowl (I used mixed greens). Then a scoop of mac and cheese on top of this. Next a layer of the sweet potatoes and chickpeas. I also threw in some sliced grape tomatoes and chopped avocados at this point. And last drizzle with some ranch dressing. Amazing.

IMG_6396IMG_6397

Leave a Reply

