Vegan Sand Tarts

When I was a child Christmas time meant cookie time. We used to make snowballs and chocolate chip cookies, and my favorite which was this old vegan recipe known as sand tarts. I was very pleased with my attempt at replicating these recipes this past week. It brought back so many great memories, and I was able to make Star Wars and dinosaur shaped cookies!

I tried two recipes, one was modified from the old family recipe, the other was a new one that I modified from on line.

Recipe one:

  • 1 cup margarineIMG_6108
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin purree
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3.5c flour
  • 1 TBsp cornstarch
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • almond milk as needed

First whisk together the margarine (softened) and sugar. Then add all the other ingredients and add almond milk as needed to soften.

Recipe two:

  • 1 cup margarineIMG_6110
  • 2 cup sugar
  • 4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 TBsp flax seed mixed with 6 Tbsp water

Whisk together the softened margarine and sugar, then add the remaining ingredients.

Then for both recipes roll out on a flat surface using copious amounts of flour. Cut with cookie cutters. IMG_6109

Make any variation of vegan buttercream frosting you want to decorate, and adding food coloring is recommended!

I definitely liked them both, but the second recipe, one modified from my family recipe, was my favorite of the two.

Leave a Reply

