Vegan “Oxtail” Stew

I seem to  be heavy on the mock meats this month, but this recipe also has an interesting back story. My co-worker was quite sick with the flu recently, I offered to bring her a vegan version of her favorite soup. She is Korean, and said that it was “oxtail stew” and she would not be offended if I could not veganize it. But I never decline a challenge.

Instead of the horrid oxtail, I used seating crumbles. IMG_5583

Ingredients

  • 2 package vegan seitan chunks
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, diced
  • 3 carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 3 white potatoes, peeled and cut in to chunks

I was lazy here and also got pre-cut veggies from whole foods:

  • 1 container pre-chopped celery
  • 1 container pre chopped white onion
  • 2 TBsp garlic
  • 2 TBsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp saltIMG_5584
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 5-6 cups water
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • dash pepper
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • olive oil

In a large sauce pan I heated the seitan, garlic, onions, and celery in the olive oil over medium heat. Next I added the tomato paste, salt, them, and allspice and mixed until it was a paste with the seitan and veggies. Then I added the soy sauce, pepper, potatoes, carrots, and water until covered. I cooked this on simmer for about 30-40 minutes, until the potatoes and carrots were soft. Lastly I stirred in the pepper and brown sugar. Supposedly I did a very good job creating a stew similar to the real thing, yay!

One thought on “Vegan “Oxtail” Stew

Leave a Reply

