Golden Curry and Sweet Potato Gyoza

This was one of the best Asian themed dishes I have made in a while! I always struggle to make perfect Chinese, Thai, or Indian dishes: they never taste like the restaurant version. This one was pretty darn close, I was pleased.

There are two parts to the recipe. The first was from a blog I love, Olives For Dinner. Sweet potato and lemongrass gyoza from this blog was wonderful! It was a little bit of work to make, but I was pleased.

frying up some gyoza!!

frying up some gyoza!!

the innards for the gyoza

the innards for the gyoza

Then I made this curry recipe from scratch, super proud of myself for coming up with recipe on my own!photo 1

Ingredients:

  • 2 heads of cauliflower cut in to chunks
  • 4 cups diced white potatoes
  • 1 block of tofu cut in to 1 inch chunks
  • 1 bag frozen peas
  • 1 stick of margarin
  • 1 TBsp garlic
  • 2 cans coconut milk
  • 4 TBsp curry powder
  • 1 TBsp basil
  • 3 TBsp sugar
  • 1 TBsp lime juice
  • 4-6 TBsp flour
  • almond milk if needed

So first I boiled the cauliflower and potatoes until they were tender. I also added the peas to this at the last minute to cook them through.

Meanwhile I placed the tofu on a cookie tray and baked at 425 for 10 minutes.

Next I took a large soup pan and added the margarine, and melted it over medium heat. I added the garlic to this and then the curry powder and basil, stirring it in. Next I added the coconut milk and the cooked veggies, stirring them through. I then added the sugar and lime juice, and added in the cooked tofu, mixing together. If the dish seemed too liquidy, which for me it did, I added the flour to thicken it. If perchance it was too thick I would have added some almond milk, but that was not needed.

superb dinner!

superb dinner!

Serve over rice!

One thought on “Golden Curry and Sweet Potato Gyoza

Leave a Reply

