Vegan Pasta with Scallops and a Side of Tomato-Avocado Bruschetta

I used to be a lover of seafood before I saw the light and went vegan. I do still miss seafood from time to time though would never cave, but there are some seafood alternatives out there. Tonight I made a pasta dish with vegan scallops that turned out quite nice.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box vegan scallops (Sophie’s brand, I had the breaded type)
  • 3 TBsp capersphoto 3
  • 4 diced kumato tomatoes
  • 1/2 bunch of green onions, chopped
  • 1/2 bushel of basil, minced
  • olive oil
  • angel hair pasta

It was actually an incredibly simple meal. Basically you just pre-bake the scallops according to the box. Then you fry them on medium in some olive oil. Add in the capers, tomatoes, green onions, and basil and cook another 5-6 minutes. Serve over angel hair pasta.

The only mistake I made with this recipe was making a whole container of angel hair pasta- I only used 1/6 of it for The Veganaut and my meal, and there was not enough leftover seafood mixture to store with it.

photo 2I also made a delicious and simple bruschetta to go with it on the side. Basically I chopped up 3 roma tomatoes, 1 avocado, and minced the other 1/2 bushel of basil- mixed that in with 2 TBsp olive oil and served over bread with balsamic vinegrette. photo 4

Leave a Reply

