Vegan Cream of Broccoli Soup

This recipe took a little while but was well worth it. It looks a little grainy, but you don’t notice it when you eat it.

I confess that this recipe might be a little tough to replicate. I was using a recipe online and modified it a ton as I went along, and did not exactly keep track of the amounts of a lot of ingredients that I threw in, but this is the closest I can come.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cashews
  • 6-8 cups veggie broth
  • olive oil as needed
  • almond milk as needed (I used about 2-3 cups)
  • 1 chopped yellow onion
  • 2 TBsp garlic
  • 2 TBsp oregano
  • 2 TBsp dried parsley
  • 1 TBsp basil
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 TBsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 thawed bags of frozen broccoli
  • 4 cups diced yellow potatoes

First you will want to soak your cashews overnight in water. When you are ready to start cooking drain then and blend them with 2 cups of veggie broth in a high power blender. Set this mixture aside.

Next heat the oil on medium heat in a large soup pan. Add the onion until browned. Add in the garlic, oregano, parsley, basil, salt, and red pepper flakes. Mix in for a minute then add 6 cups of veggie broth. Then add in one bag of broccoli and 1/2 of your potatoes. Bring to a low boil and cook for about 20-25 minutes until the potatoes are cooked.

Remove from heat and you will want to put all of this soup for a round through the blender. This took a while for me since my blender only first 3-4 cups of soup at once. I had a large soup pan ready and transferred the mixture to that as I emptied it from this soup pan.

Once all the soup is creamy and placed back in a new soup pan, add the cashew mixture, last bag of broccoli, and remaining potatoes. Placed back on heat at low. I noticed at this time that the mixture needed some more liquid, so I added probably 2 cups of almond milk. Then I just started adding corn starch to try to thicken it, probably about 4-6 TBsp. Serve topped with daiya cheddar!

 

One thought on “Vegan Cream of Broccoli Soup

Leave a Reply

