Homemade Vegan Mushroom Ravioli

Sorry I haven’t posted in a bit. The Veganaut and I were enjoying an amazing weekend in Napa, and last week I mostly cooked recipes that I have already shared, just ones that I love so much I had been meaning to repeat making them. But I’ve got a couple new recipes for you this week. On a good note for me I am recovering well after my ACL surgery and will be back to work this Friday, but what that means for you is that I will only be cooking, and therefore sharing, 1-2 recipes a week at most. But of course the Veganaut will hopefully make up for that as he will cook on many of my work days.

Today I want to share this homemade mushroom ravioli dish. I have tried to make homemade vegan ravioli before and it was always an epic failure (i.e. fell apart/dissolved while boiling in the water). I am happy to report that this recipe survived being cooked, though it was by no means perfect.

The original recipe for this dish can be found here, but I made a lot of adjustments so I will post my recipe as well. photo 1

For the pasta itself I pretty much used the exact recipe listed. The down side was that even with it being floured, it wanted to stick to the counter, and it was very hard to cut the ravioli pieces away as well as stick the top to bottom between the mushroom scoops. But we ended up making about 25 ravioli, and ultimately 20 of them survived, which is not that bad. I will comment that our ravioli ended up HUGE but that was the only way to make them without them leaking or falling apart. It just meant that we both had 4 ravioli for dinner and that was more then enough.

For the mushroom center of the ravioli I also stuck with the recipe’s instructions, but I would recommend in the future soaking the cashews a couple hours first. photo 2

The major adjustments I made to this dish was with the sauce, and of course I ended up having a lot of it leftover because of that. So I was able to make another quick and easy pasta dish using the sauce this week as well. The sauce is quite decadent, and even works well as a dipping sauce with bread. So here is my sun-dried tomato creamy sauce recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 of a yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 TBsp garlic
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 cup cashews
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 4 TBsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 jar sun-dried tomatoes with the juice/oil
  • 2 TBsp lemon juice
  • 5-6 TBsp flourphoto 3
  • 1 tsp salt

First I added 1/2 of the jar of tomatoes along with the oil to a sauce pan, as well as the garlic and onion, and fried this on medium heat for 4-5 minutes. Meanwhile I added the other half of the tomatoes, the coconut milk, cashews, water, nutritional yeast, and lemon juice to a food processor and pureed this. This was then added to the sauce pan and cooked on medium for about 4-5 minutes. Once it was started to boil I turned the heat down and added the flour and salt, stirring in the flour until the sauce was very thick. This was then served over the ravioli!

Leave a Reply

