Deliciously Creamy Veggie Enchiladas

I tried a new vegan enchilada recipe this week. Enchiladas, and variations on Mexican dishes like tacos or tostados are some of my favorite recipes. I make a mean sweet potato and black bean enchilada, and The Veganaut has this incredible vegan enchilada recipe. So I wasn’t sure how this different recipe would hold up, but I was definitely happy with the results.

The recipe has two parts. First the enchiladas themselves. Then the creamy cheese sauce on top. Let’s start with the enchiladas.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 bag edamame, red pepper, and corn mixture (in most freezer sections)
  • 1 large yellow squash
  • 2 zucchiniphoto 1
  • 2 TBsp garlic
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • dash liquid smoke
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 jars salsa verde
  • tortillas (this recipe has enough to make 10 tortilla enchiladas)

For the enchilada part first mix together the liquid smoke, black beans (not drained), water, cumin, coriander, paprika, 2 TBsp olive oil, and salt in a sauce pan. Cook these on high heat for 5-7 minutes. Then drain and set aside in a large mixing bowl.

In a wok put some olive oil and fry the red onion for a bit, then add the squash, zucchini, corn/edamame mixture as well. Cook until the veggies are a bit browned and soft. Remove from heat and mix in to the black beans.

Use this mixture to fill the tortillas. In a large casserole dish (I used two) pour and spread some salsa verde. Then place the enchiladas one by one as you fill them. Once these are filled cover them with the rest of the salsa verde. Then put in the oven at 375 for 25 minutes. photo 2

While this is cooking you can make the cashew cream sauce.

First I soaked 3 cups of cashews in water before starting all this- I soaked them for 2 hours but in the future I plan to soak them all day. When making the cashew cheezy sauce I drained these and placed them in a food processor along with 1/2 red onion, 2 TBsp garlic, 1 and 3/4 cup of water, one large jar of roasted red peppers (drained), 4 TBsp nutritional yeast, 2 TBsp lemon juice, and 1 tsp salt. I pureed this to get as creamy as possible, which ended up being about 5 minutes but even then there were tiny pieces of cashew and it was not truly creamy. I think I could make it creamier by soaking the cashews longer. That being said, it was still delicious.

Once the enchiladas are done top them with the cashew sauce, using all of it. Then top them with your choice of sunflower seeds or pumpkin seeds. Being that it is fall and I had pumpkin seeds that is what I went with. It was truly delightful.

I had said before that The Veganaut’s pinto bean enchiladas were the best enchiladas I had ever tasted. I think that is still the case, but this was a very, very close second.

One thought on “Deliciously Creamy Veggie Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

