Vegan Chinese Stir Fry With Restaurant Style Tofu

Wow I did a good job on this recipe. I have been struggling to make tofu that has the same consistency of what we all get in the restaurant. And for the longest time I figured I just needed to deep fry it to have that quality. But no, it is much more simple. The trick is to bake it! Yup! Here’s my latest Asian recipe, this one is by far the best one I have made yet.

Ingredients for the stir fry:

  • 2 cups rice
  • water
  • sesame oil
  • 1 red bell pepper chopped
  • 3 baby bok choy chopped
  • 1 bag cauliflower- partially chopped; 1/2 of it should be pureed in to minced sized bites
  • 3 TBsp garlic
  • 1 block extra firm tofu

First you will want to chop up the tofu and then place it on a baking sheet that is lined with wax paper. Bake this all at 400 for 25 minutes.

While this is baking you can work on the sauce. To make the sauce whisk together 3/4 cup of brown sugar, 5 TBsp sesame oil, 3/4 cup soy sauce, and 1 cup of peanut butter.

Once the tofu was baked I let it cool for 15 minutes then I placed it in a large tupperware container with this sauce.

This I left on the counter while I started frying the remaining ingredients in a wok with some sesame oil. I also starting boiling the rice in the water as per usual.

After about 15 minutes of cooking the veggies and garlic in the wok on medium heat I added the entire container of tofu and sauce and stirred that in, cooking another 5-10 minutes. This was then used to top the rice.

It is a bit of a sweet sauce, but the tofu was the perfect consistency and the recipe was the first Asian one I have made that I would say was restaurant quality.

 

One thought on “Vegan Chinese Stir Fry With Restaurant Style Tofu

Leave a Reply

