Vegan “Salmon” and Spinach Burgers

There is never really any question in my mind that I will be vegan for the rest of my life. But there are some non-vegan things I miss, like in particular seafood. So when browsing veganessentials.com the other week I bought a package of vegan salmon, and then promptly did not know what to do with it…It sat in my fridge for about a week until I found a completely non-vegan recipe using real salmon and veganized it for this meal.

Ingredients:photo 3

  • 1 package Sophie’s Vegan Salmon Strips (see included picture)
  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • 1/2 cup vegan feta cheese (I used the Heidi Ho brand)
  • 3 TBsp vegan mayonaise
  • 1/4 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 2 TBsp flaxseed meal mixed with 4 TBsp water

First you put the salmon and the spinach together in a food processor and mince. Then you transfer this to a larger bowl and add the remaining ingredients. You will want to form this in to two patties and then put in the fridge overnight. Then fry in some oil (I used pistachio oil) and enjoy. This was served with the veganaut’s chipotle alioli on a bun. They were pretty tasty though they did not stick together.

photo 4

 

2 thoughts on “Vegan “Salmon” and Spinach Burgers

Leave a Reply

