Vegan Chick’n Caesar Salad with Waffle Croutons!

Greetings veganites! You all know I am not much of a salad fan, but I tried this interesting recipe of a vegan version of the classic Caesar salad and was pleasantly surprised.

First I found some vegan waffles in the frozen section- not too hard to do. Cook these in the toaster like usual, then spread a healthy dose of margarine on top and cut in to small 1-2 inch squares. Place these on a greased cookie tray and broil on high for 2-3 minutes.

I also fried up a package of TJ’s vegan chick’n strips in a small amount of olive oil. photo 3

Then in a large bowl mix the chick’n, waffle croutons, 1 bag lettuce of your choice (most use romaine, but I used a bag of butter lettuce as well as some leftover spinach I had in the house), and 1/2 cup daiya mozzarella. Then for the dressing I initially used some pre-made vegan caesar dressing from Whole Foods, but honestly that was kind of bitter and gross. So with the leftovers I used my homemade vegan ranch dressing which made the salad delicious.

I also recommend adding an avocado, but I add that to everything, don’t I?

Leave a Reply

