Cruelty Free French Toast with Strawberries & Whip

Delectable!

Been quite busy lately, but somewhere in there I found the time to whip up some of these delightful breakfast treats for Lilith and I.  Ever since I started cooking, I’ve always wanted to try vegan french toast, and here at the Crunchy Vegan kitchen the opportunity presented itself!

For the toast, I used a recipe by Minimalist Baker, found here.  I used agave nectar instead of maple syrup because that’s what we have, but I think maple would be better.  The chia seeds do a great job of thickening the liquid, even when you pulverize them (I used a coffee/spice grinder for this).  I found the bread cooked well and tasted fantastic

The whip was a little more difficult.  There are tons of vegan cream recipes out there – I ended up using coconut milk stored overnight in the refrigerator.  The idea was to separate the cream from the liquid, and this sounds good on paper, but in practice it is quite a bit more difficult.  Use whatever whip recipe you want, I’m still looking for a good one!

Strawberry hearts - cheesy but romantic.

Finally, I cut the strawberries into heart shaped pieces (a nice romantic touch for your partner) and laid them out over the cream.  Beautiful, tasty, and totally vegan!

Leave a Reply

