Vegan Kale and Shroom Lasagna

This recipe was my attempt at using some Tofutti Ricotta I had in the house as well as making a “healthier” lasagna. It was ok, but sadly not one I will make again in the future. Just not good enough to repeat.

Ingredients:photo 1

  • 1 container tofutti ricotta
  • 1/3 cup vegan parmesan
  • 1 package mushrooms
  • 1 bag kale
  • lasagna noodles
  • marinara sauce
  • daiya mozzarella
  • 3 TBsp garlic
  • olive oil

It’s a pretty simple recipe. First I took an entire package of TJs kale and minced it in the food processor. Then I added this with the garlic to my wok with some olive oil. I heated this through and added the mushrooms, heating on medium-high until the mushrooms were browned. Then I turned the heat to low and added in the package of ricotta as well as the parmesan, melting and mixing it through.

While this was happening I also was boiling the lasagna according to instructions. Once these two aspects were cooked I spread the ricotta mixture over the lasagna noodles individually and then rolled them up. In a large casserole dish already lined with marinara sauce I placed the individual rolls, and then topped them with sauce and daiya mozzarella. I baked this at 350 for 30 minutes.

Sadly the kale was a bit bitter and the recipe would have been better using spinach for sure. But I sliced some bread on the side and topped that with TJs vegan red pepper tapenade, which was a nice side to complement the dish.

Leave a Reply

