Oh it’s the Veganaut! Vegan Maki-Sushi

Hello world, this is the Veganaut!  I want to thank Lilith very much for her wonderful introduction and compliments.  I am rather new to the vegan world, having only been cooking vegan for two years, but I still have a few recipes under my belt that I’d love to share with you, and hopefully bring a new flavor to Crunchy Vegan.  So here it goes, for my first post, sushi!

IMAG0856

Lilith and I went to a sushi restaurant the other day and it was incredible.  I haven’t had sushi since 2008, it had been six years since I tasted that wonderful zesty vinegared rice!  I had been under the impression since going vegetarian six years ago that I had to give up sushi, that it would be impossible without sea food.  And when I went vegan, well that was that!  Can’t even use eggs or cream cheese!

Well that was when I met Lilith, who introduced me to the world of vegan sushi!  It turns out you can create quite a plate with nothing but ethical veggie ingredients.  After a delectable seaweed wrapped meal, I decided to go out and buy a sushi kit and make some of my own.

Pressed by eager anticipation, I tore open the kit and got to work.  I used the Sushiquik plastic kit from Amazon, after reading about the issues with the rice sticking to the bamboo.  It worked wonders!  Beautiful, rounded rolls from the first batch.  We used a combination of yam, zucchini, avocado, mango, shittake mushroom, and carrot for the filling.  The result was roll after roll of mouthwatering makizushi!

Sushi is quite easy to make, the key part is the sushi rice.  For five rolls:

  • 2 cups short grain white rice
  • 3 cups water
  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt

Boil the rice in the water for twenty minutes until all the water has been absorbed.  Just before the rice is done, heat the vinegar, sugar, and salt in a separate sauce pan until all the solids have dissolved.  Fold the vinegar/sugar/salt mixture into the finished rice until evenly mixed.  Cool by fanning and turning the rice.

Using the sushi roller of your choice, smooth rice out evenly over a sheet of nori then add your toppings.  Be creative!  Roll, seal, and cut into eight pieces.  Enjoy.

It’s that easy.  I can’t wait to make more.  Next time I’m going to try putting the rice on the outside, sprinkled with sesame seeds.  Or maybe those tamaki cones, or some nigiri with pseudo seafood…

~ The Veganaut

Leave a Reply

