Vegan Lentil Tostadas

So I had some leftover tostadas from a previous dish (what can I say, I love Mexican meals) and I started looking up some creative dishes to make with them. I found another non-vegan one that I modified and substituted a lot to make this.

First I had 1 cup of TJ’s green lentils and I put them in a sauce pan with 2 cups of veggie broth and 1 TBsp of an original spice mixture. I tried boiling these for 30 minutes to make the lentils squishy, but it was not enough so had to keep adding more water and boiling it down until the lentils were squashable.

Meanwhile I drained one can of diced tomatoes and heated up one bag of frozen broccoli. Once the lentils were mashable they were mashed up and spread over the tostadas. This was then topped with the broccoli and tomatoes, and lastly some daiya cheese (I used mozzarella and pepperjack this time).

These tostadas were put on a baking sheet and broiled for 2 minutes. They were so insanely simple yet delish, and you can substitute any veggie you might like for the broccoli and tomatoes.

photo 2

Leave a Reply

