Mexican Vegan Shells!

This was a quick and easy recipe, and super tasty as leftovers.
First I diced up 4 sweet potatoes and baked them at 425 for 20 minutes. Meanwhile I cooked up some jumbo pasta shells.
In my wok I fried up 2 TBsp garlic with one chopped white onion in some olive oil. Then I added one can of rinsed black beans, one can rinsed kidney beans, one can rinsed diced tomatoes, 2 cups frozen corn, and the sweet potatoes. I added a little fajita seasoning as this cooked. After about 5 minutes I turned the heat to low and added one container of tofutti cream cheese and 1 TBsp dried cilantro. This was stirred together and removed from heat.
By this time the shells should be done: load up the shells with this mixture, top with salsa and daiya cheese. Then bake for 40 minutes at 350!
Of course I had a lot of leftover bean/potato/corn mixture, and since I was making Mexican pasta while the shells were cooking I just made a box of penne, then mixed the leftover veggie mixture with penne and topped with salsa and cheese as well- super easy leftover mexican pasta for the week for lunch!
The dish is simple and tasty, and goes best with avocado.

photo 1

One thought on “Mexican Vegan Shells!

Leave a Reply

