amazingly tasty casserole

I wanted to make a casserole while having friends over and started looking for recipes- I found one for a “tuna free casserole” which was interesting because there were no meat substitutes in it to give the impression that there was tuna in the first place. I made lots of my own modifications, and the result was incredible. It did take over an hour to assemble.

First I mixed together 1 can of white kidney beans with 2 TBsp soy sauce, 2 TBsp red wine vinegar, 1 TBsp of an “original spice blend” and 1 tsp paprika. This was then baked in a shallow dish at 425 for 20 minutes.

Next I blenderized 2 Cups cashews, 4 cups veggie broth, 1 can artichoke hearts, and 1.5 TBsp dijon mustard.

Meanwhile I started boiling two boxes of veggie macaroni.

In my wok I fried up 1 chopped red bell pepper, one chopped leek, and two containers cremini mushrooms with margarine. Once the mushrooms were browned I added 4 TBsp soy sauce and 3/4 cup of red cooking wine. Then I added 1 TBsp dried parsley, 1 TBsp tarragon, and 1 TBsp thyme. Then I started mixing in flour until it was creamy instead of liquidy, about 3/4 of a cup probably. I then added 1 bag of steamed spinach and 1 bag of daiya mozzarella. This is what it looked like at this point:

photo 1Since this was for a party with lots of peeps I then mixed together the pasta and this mixture in two large casserole dishes.

Lastly I mixed together 2 cups bread crumbs with 1/4 cup olive oil, 1 TBsp paprika, and 1 TBsp dried parsley. This was sprinkled on top.

The whole dish was covered with foil and baked at 400 for 30 minutes. It was DELISH!

photo 2

Leave a Reply

