Vegan Brussel Sprouts Breakfast Casserole

I have complained to many about my bad habit of not regularly eating breakfast. It mostly consists of eating Clif Bars these days. I used to be better about it, but that was when I got up earlier and ate cereal at home. Now I just want to roll out of bed and in to my scrubs to head to work. So I often try to eat breakfast at work. Bringing cereal and soy milk is annoying, and baked goods are not often vegan friendly (I am more of a cook than a baker).

I tried this new recipe this week: a breakfast casserole with several changes that I added, including adding brussel sprouts. Why? I love them, and they were on sale at Whole Foods, so I had to add them in some how.

Basically I took some sourdough slices and layered them over a large casserole dish. Meanwhile I broiled the brussel sprouts.

In a large bowl I mashed up one package of firm tofu. Then I mixed in 1/2 cup of potato flakes (make sure they are vegan), 1 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp tumeric, and 1/2 tsp curry powder. Then I mixed in two cups of almond milk and let it soak.

In a skillet I fried up some vegan bacon, using tofurky’s maple smoked tempeh bacon this time. Once the brussel sprouts were done I mixed them with the tofu/potato mixture.

Going back to the casserole I topped the bread slices lining the bottom with a mixture of Daiya pepperjack and mozzarella cheese. Then the vegan bacon on top of that, and lastly the tofu-potato mixture on top of that.

This whole thing sat in the fridge overnight and then I baked it at 350 the next morning for 45 minutes. It goes well with ketchup. The one thing that I would do differently: not use sourdough in the future, I think white bread would soak up the juices and be sliced easier. But not bad.

photo 3

Leave a Reply

