Like the new site? Let’s start with vegan deep dish tater tot BBQ pizza

What a mouthful, right? Welcome to the new blog folks. I have moved over here from my prior blog, at http://crunchyvegan.blogspot.com/ mainly because I am more accustomed to using wordpress thanks to the Evil Geeks.

I use my personal blog mostly for writing about my recipes (it’s my pseudo-recipe index rather than hand writing them all down somewhere). I also will write the occasional political rant or  philosophical post about running and other important hobbies in my life.

So with this ground-breaking post I am going to bring you a mouthful of a vegan recipe, both in the word department and with regards to the meal itself.

I bought my first cast-iron skillet the other week, specifically for this recipe, which is super tasty.

First I fried up a package of TJs beefless strips. Meanwhile I cooked some tater tots as per the bag’s instructions in the oven. I also rolled out some pre-made vegan pizza dough and covered the entire bottom of the greased iron skillet like a pie crust with it.

photo 1

In a large bowl I mixed together 1 can rinsed diced tomatoes, 1/2 cup BBQ sauce, 1 TBsp crushed red pepper flakes, and 1/4 cup veganaise (vegan mayonaise). First I covered the bottom of the pizza dough with this sauce, then a layer of the fake meat, then the cooked tater tots, and lastly sliced vegan mozzarella “Teese”, a new brand of vegan cheese I have not tried yet. This whole thing went in the often at 425 for 20 minutes. I then squirted some more BBQ sauce on top once cooked. It was quite a delicious dish, and felt unhealthy despite being vegan.

photo 2

One thought on “Like the new site? Let’s start with vegan deep dish tater tot BBQ pizza

Leave a Reply

